Sketching on mountain tops 2004

dachstein
On top of the Dachstein, Steirmark

I drew this many years ago. I was at a conference on the Osiachersee near Villach in Austria. I had a few days in Vienna and Steirmark, revisiting old haunts. I went up the Dachstein on a beautiful day and actually did this sketch standing in the snow. I didn’t colour it there. Often I sketch in ink and then colour later, when I cna lay out equipment and think what I am doing. This often works better than trying to add colour in situ. Are the colours accurate? who knows and who cares. They look right and they bring back the memory. There are little scribbled notes here and there, and they add to the image I believe.

Leave a Reply

