Unfolding the model

Folded body
Folded body

I don’t draw in pencil all that much. For sketches I like the determinism of ink, and for large drawings i like rough mediums like charcoal and soluble coloured pencils. But when I get bogged down in repetitive dead work, I go back to pencil. Just drawing with a continuous line to build up surface and edge. I unclogs me until I get bored with pencil, again.

This is one such “return to pencil” drawing. The model was curled up in a network of ropes suspended from the ceiling. It allows outlandish poses, but Ihate the ropes, so never draw them. Here the tutor said “That works. You can unfold him and he would be right”. I like scrunched up poses, and this idea of “unfolding the model” is an important one. Thinking of the model unfolding and standing up straight really focuses the mind.

Leave a Reply

