Theyam dancers, ink painting

ink painting 001

This is an acrylic ink painting I made of the Keralan Theyam dancers, made back home and based on photographs I took. Whilst I quite like it, it lacks the vitality of the scribbled sketches done on the spot. Like many people, I often find an artists preliminary sketches far more rewarding than their completed paintings.

One thought on “Theyam dancers, ink painting”

  1. Still interesting, but I agree with comments on preliminary sketches. Working from your own photos still means you are plumbing your own memory, not like borrowing a stock image. For me the risk is I become too obsessed with getting it “right” if I work from photos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

