Tuesday night life class

One long pose again, but this time I moved around to get two views. Other people are surprised by how fast I draw. I in turn am always surprised by how slow most others are. I would get bored. It  doesn’t take that long to cover a sheet of paper with marks, which is all that is really happening. The tricky bit is getting the right marks in the right place. Extra time doesn’t help.

wpid-dsc_0601.jpg

This was the first. Outlined in light pencil and then gone over with charcoal, with a lot of rubbing and rubbing out. Just a little colour here and there. Generally I’m pleased but I am not that keen on smooth finishes, which rubbed charcoal tends to give.

wpid-dsc_0602.jpg

The second sketch, from behind, was sketched in lightly with blue pencil Then I went over it with a Pentel brush pen. I have never used one before so I am not too displeased with the first go. A long way from Matisse or Rembrandt, but one can dream.

One thought on “Tuesday night life class”

Leave a Reply

