Copying someone who can already do it

I have been very dissatisfied with most of my figure paintings. The form is OK, but not the colour and tone. I was searching on line for examples by a specific artist, who I now can’t remember, and came across Jack Morrocco (two rs AND two cs). I had never heard of him, but I loved his paintings.

http://www.jackmorrocco.com

To try to figure out how he does it, I have copied parts of four of his paintings. His are large canvases, measuring about three feet square. My little copies are only 5x7in so they are inevitably a bit blocky. But I am more pleased with these than most of my others. Still to see if I have learnt anything.

Leave a Reply

