Learning from Manet

I have always admired Manet’s paintings, although he did produce some rubbish. Everyone’s entitled to a bad day now and then. I need to improve my portraiture, so copying some of Manet’s is a good place to start. I learn more this way than I ever do from books.

First go is with the bar maid in the Folie Berge, which I have seen in London several times over the years. Sad looking girl. First stage is a rough charcoal sketch, which is then blocked in with thin acrylic.

wp-1458814680304.jpg

Then it was a question of really trying to copy the colours and shapes as closely as possible.

wp-1458814695840.jpg

I’m quite pleased, although I have got her whole head a bit elongated and she looks like she has been dribbling grape juice down her chin.

The whole picture would be more of a challenge…

wp-1458814720019.jpg

Leave a Reply

