Neuroscience update

dsc_0547_29011559801_oI hung my paper pulp girl on the living room wall and she looked good, but really needed a frame. I decided to make one, as professional framing is slow and really expensive.

Two lengths of wood glued together gave the basic rebate. I cut the mitres on a bandsaw and they gaped terribly, so quite a bit of polyfilla needed on all corners.A trial fit looked good, with about 1/4 inch shadow gap all round. I painted about five layers of acrylic over the whole frame, looking for a suitable finish. Ended with a slightly dulled metallic bronze, which nearly matches some of the colour in the painting, but not too close as to be drab.

neuroscience_28817243070_o

Very pleased with the result. I have worked for hours on minor changes. A slight shadow under her bottom so that she is not totally lost in space. I thought there was something wrong with her head. I had painted it right up to the edge of the canvas. This looked odd, so I used white paint to re-establish the canvas, where it wasn’t covered in the coloured paper. This worked, so I went over the whole picture, painting out her body where there was a gap between sheets of paper. She looks as if she was assembled from the paper onto the canvas. She is finished, and looks fine in her glitzy frame.

dsc_0551_28817326320_o

3 thoughts on “Neuroscience update”

    1. Very simple. The canvas was a bought one with the cloth stretched over a wooden frame. I just put four screws through my painted frame into the canvas stretchers from behind. I have just stuck them in with double sided tape before, but I’m not sure how long that will last for.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for this Julian. I might get my husband to make frames for me one day! Some works on canvas do look better in a wrapped frame. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

