Two colour lino prints 

I’m enjoying the lino printing. One thing I find hard is that it is slow. You need to take more time than I naturally do. 

I thought my dancing nude would look better with no background at all, a la Eric Gill (an artist whose work is a problem to me. I think it is wonderful, but I find him abhorrent personally. Always a difficulty.) 


I think she does look much better this way. Good thing as there is no going back when you have carved the block. This is on a light, Italian printing paper. 

Then I thought I would try a second colour. 


I like this too, on thin Japanese paper. The burnt sienna is just rolled onto a cut out bit of soft cut lino and hand positioned. 

The problem is I will soon have a house full of prints. 

Leave a Reply

